Club Call and ARRL Affiliation
Club Call and ARRL Affiliation
Started in 1977, the Colquitt County Ham Radio Society has been officially known as WD4KOW. This is our history of some of the minutes noted at the start.

Where It All Began 

The Colquitt County Ham Radio Society announced on August 9, 1977 that they received a sequential call , WD4KOW, as their club license in their meeting held in the Colquitt County Governmental Building (which is a city park now). The club also received a letter stating that the ARRL approved CCHRS' club affiliation was approved. Check out the image above to see the actual typewriter on notebook paper minutes. Below is the list of first recorded officers of the Colquitt County Ham Radio Society.

  • Jack Lindley, W4NWB - President (1977)
  • Duncan Sinclair, K4APC (1977)
  • Duncan Sinclair, K4APC - President (1978)
  • John Kelly, WA4IGL - Vice President (1978)
  • J. D. Goings, WB4BQQ/AA4P - Secretary/Treasurer (1977 - 2009)
  • LLoyd Spinks, WB4MYJ - Club Trustee (1978)
  • J.O. Hortman, K4UPP - Maintenance Supervisor (1978)

The club has had many presidents and vice presidents, but Mr. J. D. Goings served as a faithful Secretary/Treasurer for a continuous 32 years. 

Current Officers - 2022

  • Duncan Sinclair, K4APC - President
  • Andy Clark, NX4AC - Vice President
  • Robbie Pitts, W1RCP - Secretary, Treasurer, Trustee